The Nelson County Republican Committee has  elected Ray H. Miles as our candidate for the North District Seat and Jesse N. Rutherford for the East District Seat.  Please study their qualifications and position on the issues and vote Republican on November 7th!


The governmental powers of the County of Nelson are exercised through a Board of Supervisors, through agents and officers acting under authority of the Board or by authority conferred by law.

Ray Miles photo for NCRC website 5-14-2017
Ray H. Miles

The Board of Supervisors fulfills three major powers in County government: executive, legislative and quasi judicial.

In an executive capacity, the responsibilities of a county supervisor to constituents who reside in unincorporated areas are similar to those of a mayor of an incorporated city. The supervisor is required to administer all local governmental services.

In its legislative role, the Board may adopt ordinances and rules, both to control the administration of County government and to regulate public conduct within the unincorporated areas of the County.

Jesse Rutherford
Jesse Rutherford

Acting in a quasi judicial capacity, the Board acts as an appeals board on zone exception cases of the County Planning Commission. It sits for hearings on county improvement districts and on appeals in licensing matters.

The Board of Supervisors is responsible for the adoption of an annual budget outlining the expenditures of all branches of the County on a fiscal-year basis. It also serves as the governing body of many special districts, including Flood Control and Fire Protection Districts. The Board supervises the activities of the County Administrator and all County departments and determines County and special district policies.

Each supervisor has the responsibility of selecting citizens to serve on the various County commissions and committees.

In addition to the duties specifically assigned to the Board of Supervisors by law, each Board office acts as a liaison between the public and the many branches of government.



2016 Presidential Election County Map



Adopted by the Nelson County Republican Committee on May 9, 2015

Whereas the Atlantic Coast Pipeline is not an issue that is germane to the Nelson County Republican Committee mission statement and
Whereas the Nelson County Republican Committee has members on both sides of the issue,
The Nelson County Republican Committee hereby resolves to take no position on the Atlantic Coast Pipeline.